Shop Forum More Submit  Join Login
Season Final Short Review by kelly1412 Season Final Short Review by kelly1412
This piece kinda shows how I felt before and after watching the finale…
and this is all I got after the last two episodes. I always made something after each episode for the whole season, but this time I didn't feel much inspiration. So sorry guys.

Anyway, the following is my review of the finale.
be ware of Spoiler!!!

Maybe I’m the only person that did not feel satisfied with the finale. It's alright to not agree with me, and I'm not intending to offend anyone, I'm a big fan of the show you know.

So here I go with my thoughts on the season final.

The whole episode feels full of tension, yet so flat at the same time… everything happens just… too quickly? ...Or say, it felt very rushed. I saw so many potentials, but few of them got enough development. I was physically engaged but not emotionally.

The story of Tarrlok’s family didn’t sell much emotion to me. (Well their ending was kinda sad... it reminds me of Fate/zero S2 Ep6, which aired just several week ago, when Kirizuku killed his spiritual mother on the boat, but that scene had a much greater emotional impact and made me tearbend)

Amon disappointed me the most, he was almost taken down by Mako!!... I thought he could have at least taken his bending and beat Korra, or something more epic! But even with blood bending he acts so weak!! …Gee … This does not support the idea of a lead villain who's supposed to be badass… I felt the whole character was ruined (Or maybe all his power comes from the mask, so when he took off the mask, he became powerless- OK this makes lots sense LOL.).... Anyway, his real face is kinda hot though.

Iroh 2 is not very impressive, I don’t get much of his personality so far… only hope his fire jet trick was learned from Azula.
and Asami… don’t channel your anger towards Mako at your father young lady!! He at least cares about you!

I’m happy to see Korra and Lin regain their bending, but… using the Avatar state to solve the problem just makes things feel too easy, effortless... like cheating… I mean, it made me think that the Avatar state could be a possible solution to any problem… and made Lin’s sacrifice count for nothing. (But it doesn't change the fact that Lin's moment in Ep10 is the most epic moment for me in the whole season!)

And Mako is just a jerk… the Makorra ending doesn't make any sense to me...

OK, enough complaining… to be fair it was an amazing finale, but I think it could have been done much better. Maybe my expectations were too high or maybe everything happened too quickly to get the feeling right, I need to rewatch it again to be sure.

Thank you very much for all your comments, sorry I type slow and may not be able to reply to them all at once, but I really enjoy reading them and there are lots of interesting points. So, you're more than welcome to speak your thoughts~ and feel free to discuss with others~

Now to sum up the whole season with some of my LOK fanart

EP2: EP3:
EP4: EP6:
Add a Comment:
vanghool Featured By Owner Nov 22, 2012
The whole series I felt was to rushed.
macygrace123 Featured By Owner Oct 29, 2012
Ikr?! Pretty much in the last episode we get, Korra learning air bending and becoming a full fledged avatar, Amon lossing everything, and him and Tarrlok dying even though Amon was probably one of the best antagonist in all of ATLA & LOK besides Azula, and he just dies like that?!? Mako breaks up with Asami and him and Korra kiss and tell each other they loved each other as if they've spent yrs. together yet they only knew each other for a couple of months and get together! And of course everybody gets there bending back and they live happily ever after.What?!... Seriously, it felt like I was reading an overally angst fanfic or something lol. Not to mention, the Korra/Mako thing was so cliche... I mean a moody, broody, firebender with a past gets with a powerful, waterbending, fun girl and though there total opposites they live happily ever after... Sounds like Zutara way to much for my liking.... She could have got with Bolin, Tahno, a total new character, Hell, Even Amon or Tarrlok (Hey, next year she'll be 18, so it somewhat wouldn't make them pedo's lol) but she got with the hot, broody guy that had foreshadowing from the very beginning of the series. What about Bolin and Asami? I guess there just there to take up empty space... Or my personal favorite... SHE COULD HAVE STAYED SINGLE AND NOT NEEDED A MAN LIKE EVERY. SINGLE. TEENAGE GIRL. IN EVERY SERIES EVER CREATED! I'm starting to think the creators of avatar aren't good at surprises, seeing as foreshadowing between Aang and Katara started from the beginning just like Makorra and look at the end result for both! Amon and his secret Identity was one of the biggest shockers of both whole series, and then they just kill him off... Bullshit. Really I don't even know what Season 2 will be about since pretty much they used up all the angst they had and everyone lived happily ever after. It was a great series and had great characters and plots, it just ended to soon and was way too rushed.
PhoeniCCs Featured By Owner Sep 17, 2012
...You're not alone... I really dislike the last two episodes... :hmm:
seriikuro Featured By Owner Aug 11, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
I agree with you. The ending was just too simple and the whole series to me felt a bit rushed. I'm a fan of the series, but honestly, they could've expanded more on it.
Acaciathorn Featured By Owner Jul 25, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
I share all your sentiments exactly about the finale ending...
The-Caffeine-Bean Featured By Owner Jul 23, 2012  Student Traditional Artist
you forgot to mention, there has been less and less of Bolin! He like disappears and pops up for small moments of comic relief...

but I agree completly with everything, the show felt rushed in the end. I was hoping for Amon to win and not reveal himself just yet and for Korra's bending to be taken away ( except air) so the next books will be her retraining herself in the other elements.

I really do wonder what theyre going to do with the next season, which is only 14 episodes....
Lovelywik Featured By Owner Jul 16, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
When Mako confessed that he loved her made me face palm myself over and over and over. The relationship went way too fast in my opinion. The Finale wasn't that good in my opinion. It seemed just like a normal episode, just with slightly more action and the enemy finally being defeated. Hopefully the next season will be better. The pacing went way too fast, it makes sense since the seasons are shorter than in ATLA. I totally agree with your review, it could have been better.
Slash72447 Featured By Owner Jul 7, 2012
What happened in the finale was like this. Tarrlock and Noatak are brothers, they are also waterbenders and have a very unique ability to bloodbend . Not to mention that Noatak really is Amon and not some nobody that got his family and him blast by a firebender. Did I forget to tell you that those two are also dead now because Tarrock detonated the ship that he is together with his brother? No? How about how Korra lost her bending powers except her airbending BUT it is now officially restored by Aang? And also how Korra and Mako also break up but a few moments later they get together again? Korra also now have the ability to restore bending powers that were lost through her connection to her "spirit self" That ladies and gentlemen happened in only 40 minutes and 2 episodes.

That is just one a heck of a story pacing, isn't it?

The half parts of the finale could have been a good premise for the season 2 but they instead choose to just wrap it all up into a 40 minute finale to be just done with it. Come to think of it the finale itself is like the an another 12 episodes but was only done into 2 episodes because of the complications and limitations that the developers have.

The Legend of Korra suffers from the same flaws of the season 3 of the Avatar: The Last Airbender. It didn't leave with the same expectations that we want. Or at least to those that have a very high expectations. It has a lot of wasted potential. The concept and everything was already there but they failed on unleashing and utilizing what they are trying to show us, audience. Everything was very rush off. It is obviously also the fault of Nickelodeon that they only ordered 12 episodes instead of a 26 episodes in one season. But it also have to do with how the show is more character-centric than plot-centric. It's lacks a balance mixture and character and plot.
black-abyss223 Featured By Owner Jul 6, 2012
My thoughts exactly!! I also did feel that things were too rushed and concluded a bit too easily. But, I do still like the episode though :)
Macrusa Featured By Owner Jul 4, 2012
I agree. The general plot was good but not fully developed.
My disappointments:
1. Whole father story with Tarlock (repeat of the bad father idea)
2. Iroh 2 was not too impressive and his voice made me miss Zuko even more
3. Totally rushed and somewhat predictable plot
4. Ending was too lovey dovey
5. Mako changed to a total jerk (he totally changed from his ignorant bad ass attitude) - what bothered me the most is that he didn't stay like a jerk
6. Too many questions - how did the airbender family not escape?, how did they find Lin?, how did bloodbending take away one's bending?,

Overall, I felt it was personally disappointing but the beginning of the season was good.
Kayla-Hiwatari Featured By Owner Jul 1, 2012
I thought the fight sequences and stuff with Amon was too rushed and easily done too. But to be fair to the writers this was supposed to be a mini series with a single season and they had all the episodes written up before the second season was requested. So they had to wrap everything up in a single season in case of an end to the show and no continuation. At least that's what I think. The end sequence at the south pole was well done though, with Korra meeting Aang and the other Avatars. I felt the music was a good touch to it and helped with the emotion and feel of the moment. It'll be interesting to see what they do for second season like who the villain will be and stuff.
BendingMasterB10TD Featured By Owner Jun 29, 2012
Great finale! But now what are they going to do in Book 2?!
AlexYurian Featured By Owner Jun 29, 2012   General Artist
You're right, I TOTALLY agree with you.
Destiny-Smasher Featured By Owner Jun 28, 2012  Hobbyist Writer
A good, short, concise review. =) I agree with pretty much all of what you said., honestly. I think that's a good way of putting it, I was "physically" invested in the finale...but not emotionally.

And the way Korra got the Avatar state did really feel like cheating, and made Lin's sacrifice just a couple episodes earlier lose all meaning, basically. =/
Plus, I hate how Mako got everything. He hurt Amon, he two-times on his girlfriend, DOESN'T solve their problems, pretty much dumps her super vague-like, then just decides he wants Korra instead. Bleh. Do not like his character very much, I am afraid. Maybe season 2 can make me like him more.
kelly1412 Featured By Owner Jun 29, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
fair enough~

And thank you so much for the point again!! :heart:
GrapeIcies Featured By Owner Jun 28, 2012  Hobbyist Artist
See... I'd agree with you if this were a 56-episode series like its preceder but a lot of people forget that Korra was commissioned by nick as a 12-episode mini-series and they were already done with the first twelve before nick asked for the other 14. I feel like a lot of the show's downfalls were due to the lack of time since they were forced to squeeze a brand new, interesting story in 12 episodes. What they gave us was plenty impressive given conditions.

And Mako lightning-bending was only proof of his awesome card. Just saying.
kelly1412 Featured By Owner Jun 28, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
I can understand this very much rationally, but it doesn't effect my emotional conclusion. If it's a mini series, then simply don't push and squeeze so much thing into it. There is no lack of great one season Anime works, so I don't think length is a strong excuse for the downfalls.

they've offered so much interesting possibilities in this season, but most of them didn't get enough development, including Mako's awesome lightning-bending.
GrapeIcies Featured By Owner Jun 28, 2012  Hobbyist Artist
I blame it all on Nick, but I can agree. I did feel a little disappointed in the end.

But, honestly, I'm having more fun filling in the holes that the series left than watching the series itself. The Avatar fanbase is too great.
Mwone Featured By Owner Jun 28, 2012
要不然喜欢,要不然痛恨。身为一个MAKORRA FAN,我不知道现在应该怎样。
我赞同每个人可以有自己的喜好,但在TUMBLR上MAKO所收到的HATE过多了。(有些粉丝疯狂到向MAKO的配音BOMBARDED with hate message告诉他自己有多么恨MAKO,真的)
无论如何,希望SEASON 2 BRYKE可以做得更好。
kelly1412 Featured By Owner Jun 28, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist

Mako我确实不喜欢。但如果你要知道对错,我可以分析一个比较可能的原因给你听。首先个人觉得Mako这个角色的失败在于角色基本没有被塑造起来(lack of character development),而由于没有帮助观众建立起对于这个角色的立场与认知,观众就会在潜意识里自己去给角色下定义,而根据Mako的外形,多半会被脑补成王子殿或者高富帅类型的,于是当他的脚踏两条船时,这种被脑补出来的定义崩塌,自然而然就会被讨厌。换句话讲,如果他最初就有被明确的设定为一个“势利小人”,为钱攀附大小姐Asami又不舍真爱神通Korra,但是他的“势力”是出于童年生活的不幸的话,反倒可能并不会引起这么大反感,或许这种无奈的两相纠葛还能引起同情。总之,但凡是有血有肉的角色无论正邪,必定会有人喜欢,哪怕他做的事很出格。

当然我也有痛恨的,我痛恨“shipping battle”。这里很多人都知道我这个人很随便,用下图要张线稿上色或者驳斥我的观点什么的我都不care的……但唯有“shipping battle”严格禁止,那种什么对于角色爱恨转嫁到对于某些真人爱恨进而口无遮拦对骂的事情,我只能说“孩子你们的三观去哪里了”= =。
Mwone Featured By Owner Jun 28, 2012
你对于MAKO的分析还挺有道理,LOK的人物我也认为不够character development,会是集数太赶了吗?(BRYKE本来打算做LOK 12集就完了)
说到SHIPPING BATTLE。。。。。。这应该是每个FANDOM里最恐怖的东西。我有点庆幸ATLA早期的时候我没有去到那些讨论配对的FORUM,用“惨不忍睹”来形容那里已经很客气了。

kelly1412 Featured By Owner Jun 28, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
造成LOK不太理想的原因有很多,我觉得集数和内容量不相称确实是问题之一,LOK在12话这么短的篇幅里试图放入过多的东西,导致全剧像赶火车般不停的向外抛洒信息量,看得到故事却看不到感情上的兴奋点(lost of tension)。

但我觉得长度和内容这只是原因的一部分,比较同时间完结的Fate/Zero第二季,在12话的篇幅里基本出色的完成了14个角色development (第一部基本在介绍世界观和登场人物,二季中间还特别给出两集flashback讲主角的生平),使得7对master和servant都各有千秋。而LOK的主要人物不过8个,设定复杂度也无法和Fate系列比,把简单把development不够的原因咎给“12集太短”,我觉得是不够全面的。原因应该是更为多方面的,我也在试图通过比较它与前作找出更多可能得原因。觉得里面有很多值得研究和引以为戒的东西。

今年的话,Another和Fate Zero还不错看,如果没看的话可以补一下。命运石之门非常神作,如果你有毅力撑过前15话的话;名为峰不二子的女人是近几年看的最棒片子没有之一(有点先锋动画的意思),观赏前提是要你满18周岁哦~
Mwone Featured By Owner Jun 29, 2012
danis58 Featured By Owner Jun 27, 2012
I have to disagree with you.

The matter of the problem, and please forgive if this bothers you since for what I've seen you like the character, isn't Amon/Noatok, the problem is, basically, Mako.

Amon was a strong character. He was a well builded villain. And he was introduced as a considerable threat. He was so easily fought by Mako, because they're trying to shove Mako down our throats.
C'mon, lighting generation without proper form (the one stablished by ATLA and early eps of LoK - it needs concentration, less time than that in ATLA but still requires time, and it requires movement, though, again, slighter than that in ATLA) and being able to resist the bloodbending of one of the most powerful people in that technique when even Korra herself couldn't (and let's recall that only Katara, a fucking bloodbender herself, and Aang, the motherfucking Avatar, have been able to deflect bloodbending)? Really? From a guy whose bending has been closer to Pro-Bending influence than traditional forms? He's a amateur (though he may have been taught lightningbending in order to work in the factory, and even with further practicing, it'd still be basic - or not developed enough like they want us to see it). But he's character oughts to be perfect. So they unrealistically write him so he is perfect. It may be partially the writers' fault for making me dislike much quite a lot, but his character, as a person, is also bad.

His bad character development has gravely severed the plot's, the other charaters' and the whole show's. That's the problem.

Still, Noatok's was written OOC-ly in the finale. Because, well, he had to be defeated. But it was not how the character they showed us early on would've acted. Still, again, he had more quality character development than Mako.
DeadDudeWalking Featured By Owner Jun 25, 2012  Student General Artist
My favourite part in the entire finale was the scene when Tarrlok and Amon are on the boat together, gave me chills.
Red-Queen666 Featured By Owner Jun 25, 2012  Hobbyist Writer
I agree with you, they shouldn't hled off Amon, at least not yet, I mean, come on! They did a whole invasion before they actually defeated the Firelord,
Although I found myself completely shocked by Amon being Tarrlok's Brother.
And he did have a sad story, but if they showed the flashbacks gradually instead of all in one go, it would have been even more amazing.
And though I like Iroh ll, and can belive easily his heritage, his character did feel very underdevelopt, maybe they'll fix that next season.
And as for Makorra, it was inevitable.
Though I was hoping for her and Bolin to get together, because Bolin needs love!
And even though Lin's bending restored, it didn't change the fact that for the sake of the people she cares for, she proved the she is indeed Toph's Daughter, and was an excellent character, and a hero :)
eeveeextreme Featured By Owner Jun 25, 2012  Student General Artist
My dad also thinks it was rushed. But it was originally going to be a 1 season Mini-series, so it was short.
plumbunnies Featured By Owner Jun 25, 2012  Student General Artist
It was a nice end but it was weak. Honestly, they could have made a stronger end with the time that they had though.
gumimegpoid13 Featured By Owner Jun 25, 2012  Hobbyist Artist
I love your pic, totally accurate :P
Also, I think that they should have spent more time with Korra and Lin trying to recover their bending. I was looking forward to a season of trial and error, and what do we get? Korra's power's returned instantly (-__- ; )
Anyways, I agree- they should've spent more time on the bigger details. I was sad with Tarrlok's story, and I certainly wasnn't expecting it, buuuuuuuuut........ Lin losing her bending still stands strong for me as the saddest moment so far :P
The Makorra ending was too fast. It was like Tenzin told Mako to be patient one second, and then the next everything is alright, "I love you too," and all that other stuff. Although I did re-watch that scene a bunch of times... whops. :)
SilverDeathRose Featured By Owner Jun 25, 2012  Student General Artist
I think the think with Mako was that while Amon was focused on Korra there was enough time for Mako to build up his attack simply because he didn't think Mako to be a big enough threat to actually worry about. Then without the use of the rest of her bending I suppose the theory was because she was desperate to stop Amon she was able to access her airbending due to the fact she no longer had the distraction of relying on the other elements or some nonsense like that. I do find it did make sense that the second he loses the mask and is revealed to be a bender Amon pretty much knows that he has no chance. It's clear his followers would go against him and even Amon has his limits to how many people he can take on. Then he decides to go away with Tarrlok and such, you know where it goes from there.
I mean I'm not overly impressed, but it worked.

Iroh well obviously doesn't have time to develop, so much had to be put into what was originally supposed to be the season finale there just wasn't time for it.

Asami's anger was actually for her dad, he lost sight of love when he was blinded by his anger and wish for revenge, so he really didn't care about Asami after that happened. She herself says that he was a bad father (after of course Bolin says it but ah wel). Besides from my understanding of Asami is if she's mad at Mako she'd take her anger out on him.

The thing with restoring bending is that LoK wasn't supposed to be a series, it was supposed to be wrapped up and done with until they got the go ahead for season two. Not only that but it does actually make sense that she can restore it because she has the power to take it as well. Again they had to squish it all together so it could be explained when the series was originally supposed to end. Lin's sacrifice still ended up not actually doing anything (outside of emotionally) because the airbenders were still captured and almost lost their bending.

I honestly think people over-analyze it a little too much. They are teenagers. They started out as friends (not to mention there is the factor of attractiveness), they learned a little more about each other and because of the deeper feelings to it call it love. I swear teenagers will fall in love even if doesn't make sense. That aspect is somewhat realistic in my views, but maybe that's just me.
Personally I don't support any particular pairing.

It's a great season finale. On a finale note I'd like to state how funny it is that in the finale of TLAB and season 1 finale LoK the villian gives a majot helping hand to the Avatar. Ozai pushed Aang into a rock hitting (if memory serves correct) a chakra that was preventing him from using the avatar state, hence allowing him to enter the avatar state and kick ass. In theory Amon's taking away Korra's bending allowed her to airbend and reach her lowest point allowing her do do her spiritual mumbo jumbo and such.
schnuffitrunks Featured By Owner Jun 25, 2012  Hobbyist Filmographer
Mako is a jerk


I hate makorra!
And what you said about amon is true
I'm a big fan of amon but that season wasn't very amon-friendly

and great art ^^
chaisuke Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012
One thing that bothered me a little was how could the Avatar losing her bending (even though she still has air bending) be the lowest point of her life....... i mean that feels like a little too over dramatic to me.... other than that....
catchingfire2520 Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
There were also a lot of questions left unanswered -

How the heck did Amon get ahold of Tenzin and the Airbabies?
How did Lin break out of prison? (Iroh I-style!)

I also wish they hadn't done the deus ex machina with Aang giving Korra the ability to energybend... It took Aang three seasons to learn how to master the Avatar State and Energybending; it took Korra all of two minutes to get her bending back and energybend.
I felt the ending would have been better if Korra hadn't learned how to energybend, and spent Book Two with Lin and the Airbabies trying to get her bending back.

With Iroh II, I think they shouldn't have had Dante Basco voice him. It was great hearing a familiar voice, but I felt it made Iroh like a Zuko-clone instead of an individual person. Also, his voice sounded way too young for his character (a general with a sixteen year old voice?) It didn't feel right.

All in all though, I loved the season finale! Iroh using the fire-jets brought tears to my eyes; Mako and his gratuitous use of lightning didn't hurt either. I can't wait to see book 2!
marie-rosa Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
I totally agree with you! It would of been a great cliffhanger if she lost her bending for the end of this season, and spend season two trying to restore it, and maybe at the same time learning more about the spiritual part of being the avatar :/
catchingfire2520 Featured By Owner Jun 27, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Definitely. Though, I'm curious as to what they're planning for Book 2. Maybe we'll have more flashbacks as Korra tries to master the Avatar State.
Confidenceman047 Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012
Despite what you thought of it, I still think you're the best! I hope you keep doing artwork because the fandom would suffer a major loss if you stopped! :sniff:
Mr-Samson Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
It was OK.
NinjaKasuga Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012
While I think Korra Book 1 was amazingly done I agree with you there was some rushed spots and the weakest link was indeed the romance angle. One of the negatives of not having a full 26 episodes from the start, while a smaller series can indeed keep the story tight and need less filler, in 22 minutes you can only do so much.
Warriorten Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012  Student Traditional Artist
I think some of the reason the season felt a little rushed was because the creators were still deciding on whether or not there would be another season (it was supposed to be a mini series) before they got the fans reaction. There were only 12 episodes in Book 1, so not a lot of time to get the point across. Whereas in Last Airbender, Aang, Katara, and Sokka had time to explore the world and have little adventures in between.
Datalover101 Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
It was good when it started but........then it started to flop. Amon's past came out way to simply and they kind of treated it like nothing.....Plus, I found it disappointing how he was a bender. I wanted him to actually be a non-bender and have the past he was always talking about, it makes things more interesting.

Call me harsh...but I kind of wanted Korra to lose her bending. I think it would have been interesting to see what exactly would happen if she had, because an Avatar without bending isn't exactly an Avatar right? Maybe we'll never know now.

I really didn't like how she magically was able to give back bending just made everyone losing them and how dramatic it was, for nothing! I mean...I cried because Lin lost her bending for nothing just for her to get them back in the finale?

It was a good finale though it could have been better....
MarikBentusi Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012
Yep, agreed. I think what bothered me most was how easy Amon got away. I wanted him to snap at how the city suddenly turns against him and everything he worked for gets destroyed before his eyes and for once he's NOT in charge, he does NOT have control over the people or the situation. And just for the extra kick of irony maybe make benders and non-benders join forces to protect their common home he's bombing from above.

Second most disappointed thing was the swiftly earned happy ending. I would've wanted Korra to demonstrate her spiritual progression by growing out of bending as her source for confidence (would've been great in a scene where she's fighting Amon without bending, but that's just me), maybe together with a warm welcome hug from HER FREAKING FAMILY THAT GOT NOT A SINGLE LINE AT THE END ALTHOUGH HER DAUGHTER. WAS. RIGHT. THERE:

also Lin's scars defy Katara and Avatar healing powers apparently :I
StarBombs Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012  Student Digital Artist
the series had to be rushed
they dont have enough money to make as much episodes like they did with avatar: the last airbender =.=
they tried their best to make everything happen in such a short time
theres only 27 episodes total you know!!!
gosh =.=
poiuytrewq232 Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
I felt it was too rushed , the one moment that did give me chills was when the avatar state was activated. One thing I hope for is that the second season finale is more developed. Great series though, I just though Amon was brought up to be this incredibly sinister being and yet he was taken down easily with a bit of air bending.
DemonTigger Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012
I completely agree with you! I felt like the whole series was rushed, and while I understand that is was a mini-series, I just... didn't like that. It took three seasons for Aang to defeat a war, but Korra can stop one in one?

Another part that had me going was that a friend of mine made the revelation that even while Aang is dead, he still had to fix everything. Without him, Korra would have only been an airbender, and wouldn't have been able to restore anyone's bending back. I understand that she's supposed to be able to connect to the past benders and get guidance, but Aang never got help like that when fighting Ozai.

I also felt that the finale was so anti-climatic. I remember watching the finale of the Last Airbender, and that had me jumping up and down, shouting at the screen, and crying at parts, but this one just left so much to be desired. To me, all the fights were ended quickly without much room for any emotions to be gathered. Yeah, Korra lost her bending, but there wasn't much of a climax to that part to really make it hit. It was a "So what?" moment. And Asami's battle with her father was so short lived. This was the one parent she grew up with for most of her life. She learned everything from him, and then she was completely betrayed by him. A fight between the two should have been much more laced with emotion between the two than simple insults. But that's just my opinion.

The Makorra storyline just angered me so much. I personally really like Asami, and I hate how they twisted Mako into being a jerk to her. I laughed hysterically when he said that he loved Korra. They knew each other for how long? A couple months. And he all of a sudden just loves her? Whatever.

Well sorry to rant, but those were just my opinions, and I'm just glad to not be the only one that felt this way about the finale and such.
The-Greyhound Featured By Owner Jun 25, 2012
I also laughed when he claimed to 'love' her and Asami is my favorite character so I could not stand to see him fawning all over Korra where Asami was right there watching. (I don't blame Korra because she has no idea about relationships while he knows exactly what he's doing)
Loopy777 Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012
Very good assessment. I agree with all of your points. The shame of it is that there were so many good ideas there, but none of them were given the attention they needed. As cool as Iroh was, I think his inclusion really hurt the overall story. Bolin should have been the one to destroy the airplanes and save the incoming fleet, and the big airplanes vs navy battle at the beginning wasn't needed at all. Korra and her friends could have found out about the airplanes on their own, and then jumped straight into trying to destroy them before any help arrived.
nekokonojo Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
I though the finale was good but it could have been better, the original Avatar lasted all four books, I don't like how they rushed this series. Also the rushed ending brings to question will there be a season 2? If anything i though they would stop it where Amon got away so they could further the plot. I know what you mean by the makorra ending I wanted them to play around with Korra and Iroh for some time before or if ever having Makorra because it's unfair to Korra (he shot her down and now he wants her he gets her just like that ? nooooo) and its not fair to asami (she's technically still his girlfriend). But overall it was good.
nekokonojo Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
ooh and did tarrlok commit suicide and homicide, just whaaaa?
bittersweetchoco Featured By Owner Jun 24, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Avatar was three books, 61 episodes.
Add a Comment:


Submitted on
June 23, 2012
Image Size
175 KB


256 (who?)